You are here

Study Guide

Qualification AwardedElectronic Physics (Radioelectrology)
Programme of StudyElectronic Physics (Radioelectrology)
Cycle / Level2nd / Postgraduate
Academic Year2018 - 2019
ECTS / WorkloadOne ECTS unit corresponds to 25 hours of workload.
Electronic Physics (Radioelectrology)
Α Degree awarded by a Greek public University or by a recognized foreign Institution of equivalent status or by a Technological Education Institute is required.
Students are required to successfully complete
Tο obtain the M.Sc. degree in "Electronic Physics (Radioelectrology)" of the Physics Department, students are required to successfully complete a four (4) semester curriculum, which corresponds to 120 ECTS.
The courses offered are on a semester basis and are divided into the following categories:
i) Core Courses (in total 6): ECTS=42,
ii) Compulsory courses belonging to the selected specialization (in total 5): ECTS=42,
iii) Elective course (1): ECTS=6,
iv) MSc Thesis (Dissertation): ECTS=30
The MSc thesis is a single course divided into two semesters, and is graded with a (single) degree in either the fall or spring semester. The thesis is graded by a three-member examination committee after a public presentation.
v) Students are required during their studies to attend 10 lectures / presentations / seminars on topics relevant to the Program.
The Postgraduate Program in "Electronic Physics (Radioelectrology)" focuses on the education and specialization of students in Electronics Technology and Research Methodology exploiting the infrastructure and know-how of the Department of Physics - AUTh in this area. The aim of the Program is to provide high-level postgraduate education in order to deliver specialized Electronic Physicists with advanced skills, capable to meet the requirements of the labor-market in the areas of Electronics and Telecommunications.
In particular, the graduates acquire skills that enable them to:
a) analyze and design analog and digital integrated circuits and systems,
b) develop systems and techniques for electronic measurements and sensor systems,
c) study and design the architecture of digital and embedded systems,
d) analyze and design antennas,
e) develop radiocommunication systems,
f) estimate the electromagnetic exposure from emission systems through proper measurements,
g) evaluate electronic and communication devices concerning EMC,
h) develop and use design software for electronic circuits and telecommunication systems.
Furthermore, the graduates acquire the ability to
·work either independently, or in a team, in research activities, often in the framework of international research projects,
·search for new knowledge and bibliographic information on the latest scientific developments,
·present and defend their work to third parties.
Finally, graduates develop a wide scientific knowledge in the field of Electronic Physics and the flexibility to adapt to new research areas relevant, or simply associated, to the field of their studies.
The scientific background of the graduates allows them to work in manufacturing enterprises and service providers, dealing with Electronics, Telecommunications and Informatics. They are also employed in research and educational institutes while their role in Technical Education is dominant educating technicians in these areas.
The Degree is officially acknowledged by the Greek Ministry of Infrastructure and Transport and Networks and its possession is prerequisite for the Licentiate of A class Radioelectrologist.
The qualification is a terminal award and allows access to doctoral studies.
A scale of 1 to 10 applies to the marks of each subject in the Hellenic Higher Education.
Άριστα (Arista) Excellent: 8.50-10.00
Λίαν Καλώς (Lian Kalos) Very Good : 6.50- 8.49
Καλώς (Kalos) Good : 6.00-6.49
Ανεπιτυχώς (Anepitychos) Fail: 0-5.99
Minimum passing grade : 6.
A full academic year is equivalent to 60 ECTS units and each semester to 30 ECTS (European Credit Transfer System) (1ECTS=25-30 student work load hours). Compliance with the ECTS (European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System) regulations started in 2007, when the Greek Legislation was harmonized with the relevant European one (Ministerial Decision no Φ5/89656/β3, art. 1-3, Hellenic Government Gazette no 1466/2007/B). Each course is credited with a number of ECTS (>=2) according to the studentworkload (contact hours, laboratory work, examination etc) and accumulation of credits (ECTS) is accomplished after successful completion of the course.
Professor Theodoros Samaras